Tough situations don’t last but tough people do

Posted: October 26, 2016 in Love, Life, Laughter, Social

SCREEEECH. I applied the breaks just in time and prevented yet another untoward accident. Their thunderous laughter still kept ringing in my ears and I could ride my bike no further.

Cut to 2 hours before.

It was a fine sunny Saturday afternoon. I was the only girl on my side of the court, with the rest of them being random guys from the boys volleyball team, practising for the upcoming volleyball tournament. A guy on the other side of the net spiked a ball that came smashing towards me. Quick as lightening, I squatted on my toes, received the ball well and gracefully passed it to the guy standing behind me. Still squatting, I looked back to see how the ball would further be manoeuvred. To my surprise, the boys burst out laughing, unmindful of the ball. Still clueless, I got up and dusted the mud off my pants and to my SHOCK, I realised that my denim trousers had torn apart at least by 7 inches. Not knowing what to do, I took a timeout, picked up my bag, and using it to cover as much as I could, I mustered the courage to walk to my bike. I took one last glance at the boys and now they were rolling on the floor laughing. As I headed home, a gamut of thoughts bombarded me- why me? was the first question. How could I be so undisciplined so as to wear jeans for practice instead of track pants? I blamed myself. The picture the boys on the floor laughing kept occurring before my eyes and i felt so terrible, I almost ran Into the car ahead of me, SCREEEECH..

I pulled up my bike to the side of the road decided to see the brighter side of things. I realised how I had not shed a single drop of tear and gave a pat on my shoulder and told myself – you are a tough cookie. Take a deep breath, close your eyes, and imagine. Pretend for a day that you are Bipasha Basu playing beach volleyball- problem solved, I told myself. I reached home with a clear mind, and in peace with myself. On the following Monday, I went to college with my head held high . The boys gave me looks and jeering glances often, but the more they looked at me, the more I felt like Bipasha Basu :). I didn’t mention about this incident to anyone, coz I believed that it’s all a part of the game. And if the boys decided to spread the news across college, what would I care?!

Ladies and gentlemen, Here is what I learned from this whole fiasco
Bad things do happen. how I respond to them defines my character and quality of life. I cannot change the circumstances, the seasons or the wind. But surely, i am not the one to grieve in perpetual sadness, immobilised by the gravity of the situation.

That day, as I walked down the parking lot, all that had happened the previous day appeared like a flash before my eyes.
And I could hear my own voice reverberating in my head – Shed all inhibitions, have no regrets, have no contempt either, for life is too short to be anything but happy.
As I rode back home in a mere 20km speed, with a sense of liberation, feeling lighter and better, with wind in my hair and smile on my face, I remember humming a Guy Lombardo song which goes something like this-
Enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think
Enjoy yourself, while you’re still in the pink
The years go by, as quickly as a wink
Enjoy yourself, enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think!

Comments
  1. Sukla M C says:

    Rewind to 2014 … In the past few years having run few 10K(s) and a couple of HM(s) I thought myself to be in some decent state of health. Apparently not, which i realised after one of my friends took me to a practice run (in her running group) …. I had an eye opener (struggling to even reach half way) … I did not have a mouth to say no (was ashamed) when my friend paid for me and had me into running in the next training season (at a point there were over 6 Paulites … juniors from school whom i had almost never spoken to before)

    Into the first couple of weeks of the running season/training season K does a little impulsive shopping for me “Nike Dry-fit Shorts”. From there i’ve learnt to buy my own decent running shoes, clothes, vaseline, band aids etc ….

    PS : the impulsive online shopping happened just after a saturday run back at her place in front of her family which her announcing she had enough of people saying “who is this guy who runs with wet shorts)

    btw … people are just too stuck up, never mind them laugh, any sport is a space where you can go beyond your own / others limits of what is possible by you. Never let life stop you from being active

    (the races i ran that year were a 10k, HM & a 25k. Haven’t run a race in almost 2 years now … but my shortest weekend run is around 8k ….. never let life stop you from sport)

    • Thank you for reading Sukla 🙂
      Rightly said. Love these lines –
      people are just too stuck up, never mind them laugh, any sport is a space where you can go beyond your own / others limits of what is possible by you. Never let life stop you from being active.

      With this kinda spirit in you, there is definitely no stopping you!

  2. Seetu says:

    Loved your write up….. Yup you are a tough cookie with perfect attitude!!!! We are cousins for sure in this matter……

Leave a Reply

